Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The EYFS Curriculum describes the phase of education from age three to five. The Reception year represents the final year of the EYFS and builds directly on the experiences and skills children bring from their pre-school settings. The EYFS prepares children for learning in Key Stage 1.
Early Learning Goals set out the learning expectations for the majority of children by the end of the EYFS.
Areas of learning and development consist of three prime areas and four specific areas. The prime areas cover the knowledge and skills which are the foundations for children’s school readiness and future progress, and which are applied and reinforced by the specific areas. Where they have close links with National Curriculum subject areas – particularly literacy and maths – they form an appropriate baseline for the National Curriculum.
Prime areas Specific areas

Communication and Language

Physical Development

Personal, social, emotional Understanding the world



Expressive arts and design

At Milton Road, the EYFS unit’s facilities consist of two joined indoor learning spaces and a large, secure outdoor area. All our Reception children have access across our FS unit to all the different learning areas. They work and play with a variety of children, various members of the teaching team and can spend a considerable proportion of the day
learning out of doors.
The EYFS teaching team consists of three teachers and two full-time teaching assistants.
When they enter the EYFS in September, children are allocated to a registration group (Class M and R) and a teacher for organisational purposes and to give parents and children a familiar teacher to relate to.

Notice board

For volunteering opportunities please see volunteer section under parents on the website.